Michigan Legislative Consultants

Governor Reinstates Prevailing Wage

Oct 08, 2021

Governor Gretchen Whitmer announced that the State of Michigan will require state contractors and subcontractors to pay prevailing wage for construction projects.  Michigan’s prevailing wage was repealed by the legislature in June 2018. Despite the repeal, the door was left open for the Department of Technology, Management, and Budget to require prevailing wage under its […]

Read full story

Michigan’s Minimum Wage Increases Next Week

Mar 22, 2019

Next Friday, Michigan’s minimum wage will increase from $9.25 to $9.45 per hour under the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act passed in 2018. The minimum wage will also increase for tipped workers from $3.52 to $3.59 per hour. Workers between the ages of 16 to 17 years old will have a minimum wage of 85% of […]

Read full story

Plain Unveiled Reforming Prevailing Wage Formula

May 18, 2018

Representative Martin Howrylak (R-Troy) announced his proposal to align Michigan’s prevailing wage formula with the national Davis-Bacon Act wage structure. The state’s prevailing wage laws are applied to construction workers on state financed or sponsored projects. The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs compiles the rates contained in collectively bargained agreements covering the locations of […]

Read full story

Michigan’s Prevailing Wage Law 101

Dec 12, 2017

You may have heard a little something about Michigan’s Prevailing Wage Law in the news. We’ll explain why, but first let’s dig into that law and what it’s about.

Read full story

Minimum Wage Set to Increase

Dec 08, 2017

In accordance with the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act of 2014, Michigan’s minimum hourly wage will increase on January 1, 2018. For non-tipped employees, the rate will increase from $8.90/hour to $9.25/hour. The minimum wage will also increase for tipped employees as they are paid a percentage of the state’s hourly wage. When the Act was […]

Read full story

Minimum Wage Increases January 1, 2016

Dec 18, 2015

Under legislation signed by the Governor in 2014, on January 1, 2106 the minimum wage rate in Michigan will increase from $8.15 to $8.50 for hourly employees and from $3.10 to $3.23 for tipped employees.  Under PA 138 of 2014, there will be two additional increases to the minimum wage.  On January 1, 2017 the […]

Read full story

Michigan Legislative Consultants
110 W. Michigan Avenue
Suite 500
Lansing, MI 48933
517.372.0130 fax

MLC is proud to be the Michigan member of NASL